Spicy Chicken Rice Bowl

IMG_0979

The other night I didn’t have much for dinner, so I started throwing together some things I did have and came up with this yummy dish. I was pleasantly surprised how good it turned out.

IMG_0999

What you need:
Boneless Skinless chicken breasts
Brown rice
carrots
broccoli
Franks Redhot
brown sugar

Instructions:
1. Cut chicken into cubes, toss in a skillet with salt and pepper. Fully cook then remove from skillet and set aside. While chicken is cooking, start your brown rice as it can take up to 25 minutes depending on the rice you purchased. There are microwavable kinds that only take a few minutes.

2.Place chopped veggies in skillet, I just did broccoli and carrots since its all I had on hand but you could do anything. Cook veggies until tender, don’t over cook.

IMG_0975

3. While veggies are cooking get a small sauce pan out to start the spicy sauce. Turn on medium high heat. Put 6 tablespoons of Franks Redhot sauce (you can put a few more if you like it really spicy), 4 tablespoons of water. Once you the sauce he heated not boiling but close add 1 cup brown sugar. Whisk until brown sugar is dissolved. Once sauce it smooth remove from heat.

IMG_0976

4. Once veggies are cooked place chicken back in skillet heat through.

5. Now take a serving bowl add your finished brown rice, just a few scoops. The add the chicken and veggie mixture on top of rice, and lastly add the spicy sauce over the top and serve.

My husband and I loved it, so I would love to hear your comments on what you think or how you made it your own.

Linking with

Mummuddlingthrough
Domesticated Momster

9 thoughts on “Spicy Chicken Rice Bowl

Leave a comment